top of page

Substance (1987) / New Order

Alternative Dance/Synthpop: Substance [Disc 1] (1987) / New Order

([Disc 2] features all of the corresponding B-sides of each single)

Substance is a New Order singles compilation of their most groundbreaking and successful work, composed of the finest upbeat, danceable, and “80s sounding” pop songs ever recorded. New Order was formerly known as Joy Division before the tragic suicide of their lead singer and lyricist Ian Curtis, after which their sound dramatically changed. (See: “Unknown Pleasures” and “Closer”)

I remember watching the music videos for many of these songs at my grandparent’s house when I was little. Recorded onto VCR were “Blue Monday”, “Bizarre Love Triangle”, “True Faith”, “Shellshock”, and “Perfect Kiss”. I grew up with these songs on repeat, now this LP holds a special place in my heart.



2 views0 comments


bottom of page